Makabayan bloc joins LP-led minority in House | Sun Star

Calayat, K. A. (2018, July 31). Makabayan bloc joins LP-led minority in House. SunStar. Retrieved July 31, 2018 from

Makabayan bloc joins LP-led minority in House


July 30, 2018
THE seven members of the Makabayan bloc at the House of Representatives have joined the Liberal Party-led minority.

In a letter to House Speaker Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo on Monday, July 30, Marikina Representative Romero “Miro” Quimbo also said his election as new Minority Leader was confirmed during their organizational meeting earlier in the day.

Quimbo listed those who joined the LP-led minority, namely: Anakpawis Rep. Ariel Casilao; ACT Teachers Rep. France Castro; ACT Teachers Rep. Antonio Tino; Gabriela Rep. Emmi de Jesus; Gabriela Rep. Arlene Brosas; Kabataan Rep. Sarah Jane Elago; and Bayan Muna Rep. Carlos Zarate.

Brosas, Tinio and Zarate are the three lawmakers who voted against installing Arroyo as Speaker during a special session after President Rodrigo Duterte’s State of the Nation Address on July 23.

In the letter, Quimbo, the LP-led minority bloc’s elected minority leader also informed the Speaker that Magdalo Rep. Gary Alejano, Rep. Josephine Ramirez-Sato, Akbayan Rep. Tom Villarin are now members of the minority bloc.

The 12 members of the Liberal party who abstained from voting that elected Arroyo claim that they are the duly-constituted minority bloc.

They invoked Rule 2 Section 8 of the House Rules which states that “members who vote for the winning candidate for Speaker shall constitute the majority in the House and they shall elect among themselves a majority leader while the minority leader shall be elected by members of the minority.”

Their stance however is being challenged by members of the former minority bloc led by Quezon Rep. Danilo Suarez, who believe that they are still the legitimate minority bloc.

Aside from Quimbo and Suarez, former Majority Leader Rodolfo Fariñas is also vying for the minority leader post.

Meanwhile, the 12 members of the LP who abstained last Monday’s voting are the following: Francis Gerald Abaya, Kaka Bag-ao, Teddy Baguilat, Jorge “Bolet” Banal, Jose Christopher Belmonte, Gabriel Bordado Jr., Raul Daza, Christopher de Venecia, Edgar Erice, Edcel Lagman, Jocelyn Sy Limkaichon, and Quimbo. (SunStar Philippines)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Welcome to Legislative Library Service Online!

    Welcome! This is the current information service provided by the House of Representatives Legislative Library which started in the 15th Congress. This blog provides information about the Library, its collection, online clippings of national issues related to or about the House of Representatives, the different House Members, Philippine legislative history, legislation, bill drafting, laws, and other articles pertaining to Congress and to the creation of laws.
%d bloggers like this: